Tidying Up

It was a dreaded morning this morning. I woke up late, feeling groggy from late night work, clients waiting… I’m sure you all know the feeling!

At the last minute my first client, the one I busy rushing around for, calls and cancels their appointment. Great, I’ve got time to do some stuff!

I look around my house and realise that the stuff that needs doing is tidying up!

Where to start, I don’t want to do it, id rather be doing hundreds of other things – you know, all those fun things that don’t actually exist, but are very important to consider when we are busy doing what ever it is that we don’t want to do…

So I started. I needed to vacuum the carpets, but there was stuff all over them, so I started at the top, books here, clothes and there, washing in the machine, ironing in the basket. Dishes washed, dried, sorted and sacked, grocery cupboard ordered, kitchen cleaned etc. You are all well aware of the routine!

Taking a step back I realised that I needed to apply this same principle to my long term goals!

Where did I want to be in 5 years?

Revisit that goal, look at it, feel it. Now imagine that you have achieved that goal. Imagine yourself turning around and looking back at the path that you followed to get to that goal. Look at what you need to do to tidy up in your thinking and your actions to polish and streamline your pathway to that goal.

Start now!

Make a point of doing on thing every day, no matter how small to polish the pathway to your goal. In so doing you will soon see insurmountable obstacles as mere speed bumps on the road and you will be able to apply your unique wisdom and experience to solving your problems and attaining what ever heights you wish to attain!

Start Now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Stress Management and Life Coaching

Leave a Reply

