Community

“We must become bigger than we have been: more courageous, greater in spirit, larger in outlook. We must become members of a new race, overcoming petty prejudice, owing our ultimate allegiance not to nations but to our fellow men within the human community.”

Haile Selassie

A wonderful statement form an unusual source – wow!

When last did you look around at your local environment and observe where it is that you spend your time – both at the office and at home?

Who are these people who are in close proximity to you?

How do you feel about being part of that specific community?

I recently met an older gentleman through business. He had bee a soldier during the Korean war in the 1950’s. How he introduced himself astounded me. He said;

“Hi! Im XXXX. Im a Marine.”

Up until that moment, I had not realize how great an impact a community could have on the individual. For many years I had been a member of a specific group of people all subscribing to common values and working towards a common goal. It had been relatively easy to join the group because I already shared common ideals and values. I comfortably coasted along in this communal comfort zone for many years, almost taking it for granted. One day petty ego and politics erupted from within the group. I chose to leave rather than compromise my principle.

Strange things started to happen, first I was acutely aware that I was alone – I felt alone even when surrounded by family and friends. That aloneness caused me to distrust friends that were still in the group causing more isolation. This aloneness and isolation served to toughen me up, but was totally unexpected. The community that I had left was an integral part of who I was, and how I identified myself. Membership of that community had changed how I felt about myself in the world.

Who are these people around you, and who are you to them?

As you observe slowly zoom out and look at how our communities overlap. Start with your neighbours, to your street, to your block, to your suburb, to your town, to your city, to your state, to your country , to your world!

Lets be kinder to strangers, they don’t have a support network. Lets strive to build our communities so we can support each other and enhance our experience of life.

http://www.woadwellness.com/

http://www.woadstress.com/

Leave a comment

Filed under Stress Management and Life Coaching

Leave a Reply

